The Power of Lifelong Learning: 7 Dynamic Ways Knowledge Impacts Our Destiny

Blkpostr Health
5 min readMay 15, 2024

Where would I be without Education? I ask myself this question often, and it surprisingly envelops a sense of destiny in me. Growing up, Education seemed so rote in its ways. I was never that engaged in the formation of my adolescent development. I did what I needed to do for a passing grade, and that was it. I am not sure what is taking place in my world, but Education as a tool for learning hasn’t been activated in my life. Despite both parents carrying only a High School education, I knew I was different but couldn’t quite place my finger on the pulse of social ineptitude.

As life began to progress for me, I didn’t know what college I would attend. It was the summer of 2000, and I was at home sitting on the porch when an acceptance letter from Kentucky State University (HBCU) came in the mail. I applied to the University of Louisville and a few other schools and was denied admission. Nevertheless, when no other doors were available, my community stepped in and ushered me into a legacy of life-long learning.

At KSU, I began to understand the importance of lifelong learning in the context of personal and professional development. I understood that even after Higher Education, I would need to keep my foot on the gas pedals and build a database of knowledge that could be used later.

--

--

Blkpostr Health

Building Legacies through Knowledge, Power, Observation, Science & Therapeutic Regeneration (BLKPOSTR)